EXEMPTIONSThere are several exemptions available for homeowners, individuals, institutions, veterans, disabled, widows, widowers, not for profit organizations, economic development, etc.Homestead tax exemption is the most common exemption applied for and granted in Santa Rosa County. If you own property that you use as your primary residence as of January 1, you may apply for the Homestead tax exemption. This will reduce the taxable value on your home up to $50,000 on your county assessment, resulting in substantial savings on your property taxes. A person may have only one permanent residence at a time.STATE OF FLORIDA ELIGIBILITY CRITERIATO QUALIFY FOR PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTIONSWHEN TO FILE(Florida Statute 196.011): Application for all exemptions must be made no later than March 1 of the assessment year, however late applications may be accepted in certain instances. Initial application must be made in person at the Property Appraiser’s Office. If you are physically unable to visit our office, please call for assistance. You may pre-file your exemption for the forthcoming year after April 1. EXEMPTION RENEWAL(Florida Statute 196.011): Automatic renewal notices are mailed each January. Income based exemptions must be renewed each year after January 1st. **Florida residents away from home on active duty must renewtheir exemption annually by providing current Leave & Earning Statement (LES), with income information redacted, current active duty orders and proof of Florida Residency including FL Driver License, FL vehicle registration and FL voter’s card.HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION, Up to $50,000(Florida Statute 196.031): Every person who owns and resides on real property in Florida on January 1 and makes the property his or her permanent residence is eligible to receive a homestead exemption up to $50,000. The first $25,000 applies to all property taxes, including school district taxes. The additional exemption up to $25,000, applies to the assessed value between $50,000 and $75,000 and only to non-school taxes. ACTIVE-DUTY MILITARY: When a person serving in the Armed Forces owns a property and uses it as a homestead, the service member may rent the homestead without abandoning the claim to the homestead exemption. See section 196.061, Florida Statutes. Service members who can't file a homestead exemption claim in person because of a service obligation may file the claim through next of kin or through any other person who has been authorized in writing to file on behalf of the service member. See section 196.071, Florida Statutes.If filing Homestead Exemption for the first time, be prepared to answer these questions:•Whose name or names were recorded on the title on January 1? •What is the street address of the property? •Were you living in the dwelling on January 1? •Do you claim homestead in another county or state?The owner(s) applying for Homestead Exemption will be asked to provide the following items to prove Florida residency: •Florida driver license or identification card number (must reflect address for whichHomestead Exemption application is being made)•Social Security Number for each owner•Florida vehicle registration(s)•Florida voter’s card(s)•Other documents relating to Florida residency in accordance with Florida Statute 196.015, suchas:Evidence of giving up driver license from other stateDeclaration of domicile, residency dateCurrent employerAddress listed on your last IRS returnSchool location of dependent childrenBank statement and checking account mailing addressProof of payment of utilities at homestead addressNote If you are changing your address on your driver's license, the address on the vehicle registration for the owner in which the address was changed will also be updated on the vehicle registration. You can obtain a copy of the new registration on line or you can visit the County Tax Collectors office to obtain a copy. Appropriate fees will apply.EXEMPTION RENEWAL(Florida Statute 196.011): Automatic renewal notices are mailed each January. Income based exemptions must be renewed each year after January 1st. **Florida residents away from home on active duty must renew their exemption annually by providing current Leave & Earning Statement (LES), with income information redacted, current active duty orders and proof of Florida Residency including FL Driver License, FL vehicle registration and FL voter's card.ACTIVE-DUTY MILITARY: When a person serving in the Armed Forces owns a property and uses it as a homestead, the service member may rent the homestead without abandoning the claim to the homestead exemption. See section 196.011, Florida Statutes. Service members who can't file a homestead exemption claim in person because of a service obligation may file the claim through next of kin or through any other person who has been authorized in writing to file on behalf of the service member. See section 196.011, Florida Statutes.If you are moving from a previous Florida homestead to a new homestead in Florida, you may be able to transfer, or “port,” all or part of your homestead assessment difference. Read more on portability.OTHER EXEMPTIONS AVAILABLE FORQUALIFIED HOMESTEAD PROPERTIES$50,000 SENIOR EXEMPTION(Florida Statute 196.075):An additional homestead exemption for persons 65 and older as of January 1 of the filing year, and whose household adjusted gross income does not exceed the income limitation of $27,994 for 2013. This tax exemption does not apply to school district taxes.$500 WIDOW/WIDOWER’S EXEMPTION(Florida Statute 196.202): Any widow or widower who is a permanent Florida resident may claim a $500 exemption. If you remarry, you are no longer eligible for the exemption. If you were divorced before the death of your ex-spouse, you do not qualify as a widow or widower. You may be asked to produce a death certificate when filing.$500 MEDICAL DISABILITY EXEMPTION(Florida Statute 196.202):Any permanent Florida resident who is totally and permanently disabled or blind qualifies for this exemption. Proof of disability is required and must be provided. The term “totally and permanently disabled person” means a person who is currently certified by a physician licensed in this state, by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or its predecessor, or by the Social Security Administration to be totally and permanently disabled.TOTAL AND PERMANENT DISABILITY(Florida Statute 196.101):Real estate used and owned as a homestead by a quadriplegic, less any portion used for commercial purposes, is exempt from all ad valorem taxation.Real estate used and owned as a homestead by a paraplegic, hemiplegic, or other totally and permanently disabled person, who must use a wheelchair for mobility or who is legally blind, is exempt from taxation if the gross household income is below the current gross income limit of $26,350 for 2012. Gross income is the income, including veterans' and social security benefits, of all persons residing in the homestead.If filing for the first time, a certificate of total and permanent disability (Form DR-416) from two (2) licensed doctors of this state or from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs is required. For the legally blind, one of the two may be a certificate from a Florida-licensed optometrist (Form DR-416B). ADDED EXEMPTION FOR ACTIVE-DUTY MILITARYDEPLOYED MILITARY EXEMPTION(Florida Statute 196.173): A member or former member of any branch of the United States military or military reserves, the United States Coast Guard or its reserves, or the Florida National Guard may receive an exemption on this year’s tax bill if he or she:•receives a homestead exemption, •was deployed during the last calendar year outside the continental United States, Alaska, andHawaii in support of a designated operation (each year the Florida legislature designates operations for this exemption), and •submits an application, Form DR-501M, to the property appraiser.The percent of the taxable value that is exempt for the current year is determined by the percent of time during the last year when the service member was deployed on a designated operation. ADDED EXEMPTIONS FOR VETERANSVETERAN PARTIAL DISABILITY(Florida Statute 196.24): Any permanent Florida resident who is an honorably– discharged veteran disabled at least 10% by service-connected misfortune is entitled to a $5000 exemption. Proof of disability is required. Veterans may provide proof through the Veterans Administration. VETERAN’S DISCOUNT(Florida Statute 196.082): Certain honorably discharged veterans over 65 with combat-related disabilities may be eligible for a discount equal to their amount of service-connected disability. VETERAN’S TOTAL DISABILITY(Florida Statute 196.081):Any honorably discharged veteran with a service-connected total and permanent disability is entitled to an exemption on real estate owned and used as a homestead. Persons entitled to this exemption must be a permanent resident of Florida as of January 1 of the assessment year. Under certain circumstances, the benefit of this exemption can carry over to the veteran’s surviving spouse. Documentation from the Veterans Administration is required.SERVICE-CONNECTED, TOTAL AND PERMANENT DISABILITY OR CONFINED TO A WHEELCHAIR(Florida Statutes 196.081 and 196.091): An honorably discharged veteran who is totally and permanently disabled or requires a wheelchair for mobility resulting from their military service may qualify for total exemption of their homestead. Under some circumstances, the benefit of this exemption can carry over to the surviving spouse. AGRICULTURAL AND OTHER CLASSIFIED PROPERTYAny assessment for tax purposes that is less than the just value is considered a classified use assessment. An appraiser may assess property at lower-than-just-value if it meets the statutory requirements of one of the following uses. The property owner must file a return between January 1stand March 1st of the assessment year. Contact the office for details.10% CAP(Florida Statutes 193.1554 and 193.1555): Non-homestead property assessment cannot increase by more than 10% unless a qualified improvement or a change in ownership/control occurs. The 10% cap does not apply to school district taxes.IMPROPER HOMESTEAD EXEMPTION(Florida Statute 196.161)This office investigates those who may have received a homestead exemption improperly. Ineligibility for homestead is caused by one of several reasons such as renting homesteaded property; having a homestead benefit in another county or state; not using the homestead property as their primary residence or other reason which should preclude that property from receiving a homestead exemption.In accordance with Florida Statutes, an improper homestead will cause this office to file a lien against the property for those years the property was ineligible for the exemption, up to ten years. Also, there will be a penalty of 50% of the tax due on each year the exemption was received and interest rate of 15% per annum will be applied. If you think you should not be receiving a homestead exemption, please contact this office. If you know or suspect homestead fraud is taking place, let us know about it. You can do it CONFIDENTIALLY by filling out the form below or by calling (850) 981-1898. Agricultural landPollution control devices High-water recharge Historic property Granny Flats Conservation easementss. 193.461, F.S.s. 193.621, F.S.s. 193.625, F.S.s. 193.503, F.S.s. 193.703, F.S.s. 193.501, F.S.